Predestination and freewill are compatible according to the Bible.

Originally I posted this in a thread on Facebook but I figured I would turn it into a full fledged blog post.

/open can of worms 1

“Then the Lord answered Job out of the whirlwind, and said, Who is this that darkeneth counsel by words without knowledge? Gird up now thy loins like a man; for I will demand of thee, and answer thou me. Where wast thou when I laid the foundations of the earth? declare, if thou hast understanding. Who hath laid the measures thereof, if thou knowest? or who hath stretched the line upon it? Whereupon are the foundations thereof fastened? or who laid the corner stone thereof; When the morning stars sang together, and all the sons of God shouted for joy?” Job 38: 1-7

God is sovereign. God predestines everything. God is not us. He is not confined to our realm like we are.

Let the wicked forsake his way, and the unrighteous man his thoughts: and let him return unto the Lord, and he will have mercy upon him; and to our God, for he will abundantly pardon. For my thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways my ways, saith the Lord. For as the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways, and my thoughts than your thoughts.” Isaiah 55: 7-9

The Devil wants to be God. He tricked us into thinking we could be God too. When someone tries to understand predestination, they are trying to see things from God’s perspective.

And the serpent said unto the woman, Ye shall not surely die: For God doth know that in the day ye eat thereof, then your eyes shall be opened, and ye shall be as gods, knowing good and evil. And when the woman saw that the tree was good for food, and that it was pleasant to the eyes, and a tree to be desired to make one wise, she took of the fruit thereof, and did eat, and gave also unto her husband with her; and he did eat.” Genesis 3: 4-6

God predestines everything because God is outside of time. When John, in the Revelation of Jesus Christ had a vision of the future, he saw things OUTSIDE OF TIME. He could see the future. God the Father is in heaven. Jesus Christ is seated at the right hand of the Father.

But WE are not in the Heavenly realm! We exist in the realm of the earth. In this realm, we do not see things from God’s point of view. Thus we CANNOT fathom predestination!

God CANNOT lie! Thus He MUST reveal to us the doctrine of predestination. But we cannot understand predestination because we are not governed by the same laws as God. His ways are not OUR ways.

Let no man say when he is tempted, I am tempted of God: for God cannot be tempted with evil, neither tempteth he any man: But every man is tempted, when he is drawn away of his own lust, and enticed. Then when lust hath conceived, it bringeth forth sin: and sin, when it is finished, bringeth forth death. Do not err, my beloved brethren.” James 1: 13-16

We always have a choice. But to say that we should do nothing, because God already knows, is to say that it doesn’t matter what we do. That is the lie of the Devil. We are to strive to do the right thing no matter what.

For we know that the law is spiritual: but I am carnal, sold under sin. For that which I do I allow not: for what I WOULD, that do I not; but what I hate, that do I. If then I do that which I WOULD not, I consent unto the law that it is good. Now then it is no more I that do it, but SIN (“ye shall be as God’s”) that dwelleth in me. For I know that in me (that is, in my flesh,) dwelleth no good thing: for to WILL is present with me; but how to perform that which is good I find not. For the good that I WOULD I do not: but the evil which I would not, that I do. Now if I DO that I WOULD not, it is no more I that do it, but SIN that dwelleth in me. I find then a law, that, when I WOULD DO good, evil IS present with me.” Romans 7: 14-21

Paul had faith that he was doing the will of God despite not knowing everything from God’s point of view.

Faith is our way of knowing that we are walking in righteousness. But we do not inherit salvation until we are dead and no longer confined to this finite realm but rather when we are confined to the heavenly eternal realm.

We strive to do right while growing in the faith.

Faith is our assurance of eternal salvation.

To say that now, in our sinful state, we already know our fate is to say we can see things from God’s point of view. That is blasphemous.

“Add iniquity unto their iniquity: and let them not come into thy righteousness. Let them be blotted out of the book of the living, and not be written with the righteous. But I am poor and sorrowful: let thy salvation, O God, set me up on high.” Psalm 69: 27-29

He that overcometh, the same shall be clothed in white raiment; and I will not blot out his name out of the book of life, but I will confess his name before my Father, and before his angels. He that hath an ear, let him hear what the Spirit saith unto the churches.” Revelation 3: 5-6

Do you have an ear to hear?

Leave a Reply

